Home Register Manuals 164 Forum Interactive Library
Login

 
 

Alfa164Diagnostics

For the technical things.

Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby wilco » Sat Mar 02, 2013 6:54 pm

Ok, I think its time to release a version of the program i made to diagnose errors happening in our 164's

If you want to download it, or want to know what you need to run it; Please visit these links:

Alfa164 diagnostics version 1.0.15- setup.exe

version 1.0.15 update

version 1.0.16 update

FTDI drivers



This topic is used for any questions or problems you might have.


Unfortunately, i don't have the time to follow all other 164 forums, so i will only reply to most of the questions and remarks on this site.
I hope you understand.
Wilco
Last edited by wilco on Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:55 pm, edited 7 times in total.
Henry Ford, 1939: "Every time I see an Alfa Romeo pass by, I lift my hat."
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V Q4--
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V--
User avatar
wilco
3.0 V6 24V owner
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:26 pm
Country: Norway (no)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby 164 TD » Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:25 pm

Best invention since sliced bread!!!

I had it running today and I was able to go through all the systems!!!

Thanks for making this program and sharing it with us!!
TD en Q4 owner

Image
User avatar
164 TD
Q4 owner
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Honselersdijk
Country: Netherlands (nl)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby alfa east » Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:15 pm

Is there a Nobel prize for altruistic 164 knowledge sharing? I'd like to nominate someone (actually, several people come to mind).
User avatar
alfa east
3.0 V6 24V automatic
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:26 am
Location: Bangkok
Country: Thailand (th)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby Alfan » Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:24 pm

If only this had come with my car, when I bought it :wink:

Works great, you just have to be a little careful when using it and driving at the same time...
1994 Alfa Romeo 164 Q4 Proteo Rosso 535.000km
1989 Lancia Thema 8.32 Verde Indy 260.000km
2015 Alfa Romeo 4C Rosso Competizione 60.000km
User avatar
Alfan
Q4 owner
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 8:20 pm
Location: Denmark
Country: Denmark (dk)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby wilco » Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:28 pm

I will extend it soon with an auto update function. Should work now but my laptop was messing me up so reinstalling :)
Hope it's usefull to you all :D
Glad to hear you got it working Arjen
And East... welll... dunno.. could be my first price ever ;) am i nominated ? :D
Many thanks to Alan for the beta/roadtesting :D
Henry Ford, 1939: "Every time I see an Alfa Romeo pass by, I lift my hat."
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V Q4--
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V--
User avatar
wilco
3.0 V6 24V owner
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:26 pm
Country: Norway (no)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby Ladin164QV » Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:58 pm

Wow, thank You for sharing with us... :D I will test it as soon is my de-cat complete.
93' Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V
Ladin164QV
QV 24V owner
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:51 am
Location: Czech Republic /Karlovy Vary
Country: Czech Republic (cz)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby Helli » Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:27 pm

Wilco

first also from me many thanks for your work and for making it available here.

As you know, I have been involved in the discussions of 164 diagnostics on many levels.
Although I have collected now nearly all of the required Marelli modules, I was immediately intrigued by your approach.
And I tested it.

(1) My Airbag lamp was on again!
I connected cables and Laptop and it found the ECU and the Airbag system immediately.

Image

Airbag and ECU are properly defined.
Under error type I do not know what V batt is. (Battery Voltage?)
Anyway, Status said that the error is corrected.

Now, I thought; I should reset the faults and the error lamp. But klicking the button "Clear Error Code" did not show any result. Since the program does not indicate via visual means, whether it is still doing something, I waited, but finally closed the program.

A subsequent test with the Marelli Tester showed "no Errors present" (so they were cleared after all).
I reset the error light and all is as it should be now.
---------------------------------------

(2) Since the test connector is easlily accessible a hooked the laptop to the ABS.

The program found an ECU, could identify it, but the ABS is "Unknown".
A pity!

Image

Again many thanks.
Are you interested in more info, for instance on testing the M3.7?
Helli
3.0 V24 Q4 1994
Helli
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:44 pm
Location: Bavaria
Country: Germany (de)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby wilco » Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:34 pm

Ah Nice it works for you.
I have to add your ECU code to the program, no biggy.
You might be right, easier to show what it's doing, and afterwards re read errorcodes.
The only thing is, sometimes you have to turn the key to the off and back to on position to restart the ecu so the errorcodes are really gone.
Vbat is indeed a too low battery voltage. could be a loose connector
But nice feedback so far. Thank you.
I will look into your problems :)
Henry Ford, 1939: "Every time I see an Alfa Romeo pass by, I lift my hat."
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V Q4--
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V--
User avatar
wilco
3.0 V6 24V owner
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:26 pm
Country: Norway (no)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby wilco » Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:03 pm

1.0.15 update: Download update
This is an update. In case you do not have the program allready, install that first!! from the link down here or the top of the topic.
Download
Henry Ford, 1939: "Every time I see an Alfa Romeo pass by, I lift my hat."
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V Q4--
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V--
User avatar
wilco
3.0 V6 24V owner
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:26 pm
Country: Norway (no)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby wilco » Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:18 pm

There seems to be a little update bug.
When you install it on another place D: for example, the updater will install the new update in C:\Program Files\Alfa164Diagnostics
So, until that is solved, you can fix this yourself by copying the contents of C:\Program Files\Alfa164Diagnostics to your installation path.
Henry Ford, 1939: "Every time I see an Alfa Romeo pass by, I lift my hat."
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V Q4--
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V--
User avatar
wilco
3.0 V6 24V owner
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:26 pm
Country: Norway (no)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby Roadtrip » Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:32 pm

Tried to install the driver, but there is no ftdport.inf file in the link provided. My computer does not recognize the device.
Roadtrip
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 12:51 am

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby alfisti-164 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:25 am

Hi Roadtrip,

Welcome on this site! Thanks for registering!

I had the same "problem": just click the folder the drivers are in, and let your computer install the found device. (USB SERIAL PORT)
I will work fine.

Another tip: make sure that the com-port it uses is the first one! (Example: If your computer uses COM3, make sure the installed device uses COM1 or COM2) otherwise your computer might freeze.

Let me know how it turned out? Thanks!
164 24v Super 1994
164 TS Facelift 1993
alfisti-164
Site Admin
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 6:12 pm
Location: Arnhem
Country: Netherlands (nl)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby wilco » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:09 pm

did you unzip the file ?
Here you can download an unzipper
Winrar 32 Bit
Winrar 64 Bit
Henry Ford, 1939: "Every time I see an Alfa Romeo pass by, I lift my hat."
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V Q4--
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V--
User avatar
wilco
3.0 V6 24V owner
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:26 pm
Country: Norway (no)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby wilco » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:12 pm

alfisti-164 wrote:Hi Roadtrip,

Welcome on this site! Thanks for registering!

I had the same "problem": just click the folder the drivers are in, and let your computer install the found device. (USB SERIAL PORT)
I will work fine.

Another tip: make sure that the com-port it uses is the first one! (Example: If your computer uses COM3, make sure the installed device uses COM1 or COM2) otherwise your computer might freeze.

Let me know how it turned out? Thanks!

Also Com1 has a higher priority in windows. So less problems with timeouts.
Henry Ford, 1939: "Every time I see an Alfa Romeo pass by, I lift my hat."
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V Q4--
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V--
User avatar
wilco
3.0 V6 24V owner
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:26 pm
Country: Norway (no)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby Maffia_Alfista » Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:52 pm

Hi Wilco.

I have ordered the cables and installed the program but I don't understand how to install the "ftdiport.inf" driver.

If I double click on it it just open the text document. If I right click I can chose an "install" tab, but when I do that I just get an error messege saying..
"The INF file you selected does not support this method of installation"

Do I have to but the content of the rar file in some perticualar folder?

I'm running Win7.

Cheers // Daniel
Daniel Jansson
164 Q4 -95
GTV6 -83
75TS - 90
User avatar
Maffia_Alfista
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 7:11 pm
Location: Luleå / Härnösand
Country: Sweden (se)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby wilco » Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:59 pm

click Start >> R mouse computer and choose manage in the menu.
In the window that opens, choose Device manager.
In there find the adapter. Think its under Ports.
right click on it and in the menu update driver software
click "browse my computer for driver software"
Browse to where ftdiport.inf is located.
Click next.
Windows should find and install the new driver now.
Henry Ford, 1939: "Every time I see an Alfa Romeo pass by, I lift my hat."
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V Q4--
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V--
User avatar
wilco
3.0 V6 24V owner
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:26 pm
Country: Norway (no)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby Ladin164QV » Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:20 pm

Yesterday I tested it, and its working beautifully. Its nice I can talk with so old ECU.

Thank You Wilco.

Only a question, can be somewhere set the refresh rate of the selected values?

Image
93' Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V
Ladin164QV
QV 24V owner
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:51 am
Location: Czech Republic /Karlovy Vary
Country: Czech Republic (cz)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby 164 TD » Sat Apr 13, 2013 3:28 pm

I have the original Alfatester and this is the refreshrate the tester works on as well. I think the bautrate is just that low.
TD en Q4 owner

Image
User avatar
164 TD
Q4 owner
 
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Honselersdijk
Country: Netherlands (nl)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby wilco » Sat Apr 13, 2013 3:53 pm

It's exactly what Arjen says.
The protocol is just that slow. Nothing i can do about that. The only thing you can do is only use the sensors you need. Then they will update pretty fast.
The protocol was never designed for what you can do with the program. the tester also does not request so many sensorsat the same time.
Henry Ford, 1939: "Every time I see an Alfa Romeo pass by, I lift my hat."
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V Q4--
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V--
User avatar
wilco
3.0 V6 24V owner
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:26 pm
Country: Norway (no)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby Alfan » Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:34 pm

During my road testing of the sw, I have had no problem with connection on the latest version when going to work, which is about 40 minutes - but this is when you DO NOT click anything in the program after getting it all up and running! If you do, it most likely will lose connection and you have to reconnect. I have not tried more than 4 parameters at the same time, as it should not be needed.

I am currently driving a QV 24V and it is more tricky to keep connection in that car, compared to my Q4. You can try and adjust the response time at the bottom of the window.
1994 Alfa Romeo 164 Q4 Proteo Rosso 535.000km
1989 Lancia Thema 8.32 Verde Indy 260.000km
2015 Alfa Romeo 4C Rosso Competizione 60.000km
User avatar
Alfan
Q4 owner
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 8:20 pm
Location: Denmark
Country: Denmark (dk)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby alfisti-164 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:23 am

Wilco,

can you give me a few pointers on this problem please?

I can't seem to connect:
Image

After a second or 10, and 5 reconnection attempts, the program freeses.


Updating works fine by the way!! :D
164 24v Super 1994
164 TS Facelift 1993
alfisti-164
Site Admin
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 6:12 pm
Location: Arnhem
Country: Netherlands (nl)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby alfisti-164 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:33 am

Already got it, sorry...

The 12V wire didn't gave 12V. :oops: Connected it to the correct wire that did have 12V and it works fine... (off cource!)
164 24v Super 1994
164 TS Facelift 1993
alfisti-164
Site Admin
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 6:12 pm
Location: Arnhem
Country: Netherlands (nl)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby Alfan » Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:38 am

alfisti-164 wrote:Already got it, sorry...

The 12V wire didn't gave 12V. :oops: Connected it to the correct wire that did have 12V and it works fine... (off cource!)


Been there, done that :wink:
1994 Alfa Romeo 164 Q4 Proteo Rosso 535.000km
1989 Lancia Thema 8.32 Verde Indy 260.000km
2015 Alfa Romeo 4C Rosso Competizione 60.000km
User avatar
Alfan
Q4 owner
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 8:20 pm
Location: Denmark
Country: Denmark (dk)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby alfisti-164 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:13 am

Ok, I have tested it on my twinspark and it works like a charm! However, when I hooked it up to my 24v (the main reason I got the cables etc.) the software doesn't go further then: Connecting to ECU...

I hooked up another Motronic module and got the same result.

:?:
164 24v Super 1994
164 TS Facelift 1993
alfisti-164
Site Admin
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 6:12 pm
Location: Arnhem
Country: Netherlands (nl)

Re: Alfa164Diagnostics

Postby wilco » Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:24 am

lol atleast you found it out yourself (both of you) ;)
is there no action at all from the lights ?
you should see the yellow one for "init"
when the ecu responds, you should see the green lighting up
When the program sends data, the red lights up
is there any response from the ecu ?

Btw. did the program recognize the TS ?
Henry Ford, 1939: "Every time I see an Alfa Romeo pass by, I lift my hat."
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V Q4--
--Alfa Romeo 164 3.0 V6 24V--
User avatar
wilco
3.0 V6 24V owner
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:26 pm
Country: Norway (no)

Next

Return to Technical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron